Wisconsin Teaching Fellow or Scholar (WTFS) and UW's System's Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID)
In this Section

2020 OPID Spring Conference

The Joys of Teaching & Learning: Creating Transformative Experiences

Thursday, April 16 & Friday, April 17, 2020 Memorial Union, Madison, WI

Calling for Proposals!

The Office of Professional Instructional Development (OPID) sponsors this annual conference each April. Approximately 200 faculty, staff and students come together across diverse disciplines to present scholarly results from teaching and student learning related research. This dynamic event provides networking, educational and scholarly engagement opportunities for all who attend! We welcome educators from all fields and community members in collaboration with UW System faculty and instructional academic staff to apply with a proposal presentation. Please view: Program/Proposal Details to prepare your presentation proposal. Proposal submissions should be prepared in a Word document, then copied and pasted into the online Presentation Proposal Form. Presenters will receive a confirmation email upon receipt of their proposal containing everything submitted.

Proposal Deadline: Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Honoring Our Participants

Each UW institution may nominate two to three candidates for the WTFS program. The awardees participate in events throughout the year, including attending Faculty College, a summer institute, and fall and winter seminars. Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars are expected to serve as leaders and mentors, sharing their project ideas and outcomes in a variety of public forums.

UW-Stout's 2018-19 Wisconsin Teaching Scholar: Mitch Ogden

Mitchell Ogden

Associate Professor / Program Director

View Profile
Past Years' Fellows and Scholars


  • Debbie Stanislawski, Teaching, Learning & Leadership (Scholar)


  • Chelsea Lovejoy, Psychology (Fellow)
  • David Ding, Operations Management (Scholar)


  • Kate Edenborg, English (Fellow) and Philosophy
  • Jim Handley, Social Science (Fellow)


  • Fassil Fanta, Social Science (Fellow)
  • Tina Lee, Social Science (Fellow)


  • Todd Zimmerman, Ph.D., Physics (Fellow)
  • Joleen Hanson, Ph.D., English and Philosophy (Fellow)
  • Maureen Mitton, MA, CID, School of Art and Design (Scholar)


  • Maleka Hasimi, Ph.D., Biology (Fellow)
  • Judy Johanna Hopp, Ph.D., Physics (Fellow)
  • Laura Jean Schmidt, Ph.D., Mathematics (Scholar)


  • Derek Wissmiller, Ph.D., Engineering and Technology (Fellow)


  • Amanda Little, Ph.D., Biology (Fellow)
  • Julie Peterson, Ph.D., Art and Design (Fellow)
  • Diane Klemme, Ph.D., SoE Instruction (Scholar)


  • Damian Hanft, Ph.D., Hospitality and Tourism (Fellow)
  • Quan Zhou, Ph.D., English and Philosophy (Fellow)
  • Terri Karis, Ph.D., Human Development and Family Studies (Scholar)


  • Phillip Motley, Ph.D., Art and Design (Fellow)
  • Laura Schmidt, Ph.D., Mathematics (Fellow)


UW-Stout's 2017-18 Wisconsin Teaching Scholar:

  • Debbie Stanislawski, Teaching, Learning & Leadership - Scholar

UW-Stout's 2016-17 Wisconsin Teaching Fellow & Scholar:

  • Chelsea Lovejoy, Psychology - Fellow
  • David Ding, Operations Management - Scholar